Review: Omega Speedmaster Professional and my thoughts about it

It’s been 3 years since I wrote my last article here. My interests have shifted from jeans and menswear to watches and the world that surrounds them.

After getting my first Swiss watch, Longines Conquest Classic L619, in March 2015, I slowly became a watch guy. And after some thorough research for a new watch, I chose the Speedy Pro.

image

There’re many variations of Speedmaster Professionals within Omega’s current collection as of 2016. They can be divided into 2 groups: Speedmaster Professional (Moonwatch) and Speedmaster Professional Moonphase which is the Moonwatch with moonphase and date indicator

I personally prefer the original 3-subdial model for a number of reasons but mostly because the moonphase models have too many subdials.

IMG_0603

1861 and 1863 models have 3 subdials.

D63EA7DA-AD86-4517-AC80-1C068A9A9BFA-8210-0000094BF8ABF906

1866 models have 4 subdials for additional date and moonphase function.

I had troubles deciding which one to get between 1861 model and 1863 model. I really like that original warm look of hesalite crystal and that inscription on the 1861 models. But I really couldn’t get my eyes off that the movement through the transparent caseback of 1863 models. Finally I chose the 1863 or Sapphire Sandwich because the movement looked so damn cool through the transparent caseback even though I knew that the 1863 models weren’t flight qualified by NASA.

IMG_2843

1861 and

IMG_2836

Unfortunately the model with steel bracelet was sold out in Bangkok. I didn’t want to wait for 2 more months so I decided to buy one with black gator strap. I quickly ordered the steel bracelet which only arrived 4 months later. For most of the time while I was waiting for the bracelet, I liked it most on a shark leather strap. When it comes to choosing a strap, the Speedy Pro is really a handsome and versatile watch. It looks awesome on anything. I think it might look so damn cool on a racing strap.

IMG_2840

On Speedmaster Professional steel Bracelet.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Greyscale. Shark leather strap

IMG_2838

On shark leather strap

IMG_2839

On brown leather strap

Two months or so after I got the watch I found the warm look of domed hesalite crystal so beautiful and captivating. Now I crave for the model with hesalite crystal. Trust me you can’t own just one moonwatch!

IMG_1268

The day my steel bracelet arrive. At Omega Boutique

IMG_0214

#nofilter

IMG_2854

My tool watches: field watch (GG-W-113), dive watch (SKX007), pilot’s watch (Speedy)

Leave a Reply

